What is the ACT exam syllabus?

  • I'm not sure if I should take SAT or ACT and knowing about the syllabus would help.

    1. The ACT exam is divided into four different sections – English, Mathematics, Reading, and Science – and lasts for 3 hours.
    2. You can also opt to attempt a fifth section, the Writing Test, which lasts for another 40 minutes, bringing the total exam time to 3 hours and 40 minutes.
    3. All the 215 questions you see in the test will be in the form of MCQs and not only your knowledge but also your time management skills.

    Read further details about the ACT exam syllabus here

    1. English-
      This consists of 5 passages with 15 questions per passage. Each of these questions will measure your grammar, punctuation, sentence formation, and comprehension.
    2. Maths-
      The Mathematics test questions include pre-algebra, elementary algebra, intermediate algebra, coordinate geometry, plane geometry, and trigonometry.
    3. Reading-
      This section consists of 4 different passages with 10 questions each. The passages may be from any of these contexts – social science, natural science, humanities, and fiction.
    4. Science-
      This bit of the exam will measure your interpretation, analysis, reasoning, evaluation, and problem-solving skills in Physics, Biology, Chemistry, and Earth Sciences.